2020 CCMA Banquet tickets now on sale

This year’s awards banquet will take place Saturday, February 29, at the Hyatt Regency, 5 Embarcadero, San Francisco from 4:30-6:30 p.m. Doors will open at 4 p.m. As is our annual tradition now, our celebration will take place during the Associated Collegiate Press Midwinter Convention. We are holding the awards ceremony a little earlier inContinue reading “2020 CCMA Banquet tickets now on sale”

2020 CCMA Contest Rules

California College Media Association 2020 CCMA Excellence in Student Media Divisions & Categories Division A: Publications at four-year colleges or universities with enrollments of 15,000 students or more Division B: Publications at four-year colleges or universities with enrollments under 15,000 students Division C: Publications at community colleges NEWSPAPERS (PRINT/ONLINE) Regardless of frequency; print or onlineContinue reading “2020 CCMA Contest Rules”

2018 CCMA Banquet Tickets On Sale

Tickets for this year’s California College Media Association awards banquet are now on sale online. The dinner is the final scheduled event of the Associated Collegiate Press Midwinter National College Convention March 1-3 at the Long Beach Hyatt Regency Hotel. Doors will open at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, March 3. Advance  ticket sales close Feb.Continue reading “2018 CCMA Banquet Tickets On Sale”

2018 CCMA contest deadline is Dec. 8

Entries are now being accepted for CCMA’s 2018 Excellence in Student Media contest. The deadline is 9 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 8. This year’s contest includes 45 categories of work on newspapers/websites, magazines and advertising. Schools may enter one of three divisions: • Publications at four-year colleges or universities with enrollments of 10,000 students orContinue reading “2018 CCMA contest deadline is Dec. 8”

This Year’s CCMA Contest and Awards Banquet

Here are this year’s dates for CCMA’s annual college news contest and awards banquet: • We anticipate opening online contest entries at the beginning of November. • The deadline for this year’s contest will be Dec. 8. • The awards banquet will take place Saturday, March 3, at the Hyatt Regency in Long Beach. AgainContinue reading “This Year’s CCMA Contest and Awards Banquet”

Letter from CMA president about California travel restrictions, Texas and Kentucky conventions

Dear California friends and members, College Media Association leadership is deeply disappointed in the laws recently passed in Texas and Kentucky, and we are aware of the state of California’s restrictions on travel to those states and the six others with similar laws. We regret that California’s restrictions may prevent or inhibit your ability toContinue reading “Letter from CMA president about California travel restrictions, Texas and Kentucky conventions”

Election Results: Two Newcomers Join CCMA Board

Two new members were elected to the California College Media Association board of directors in last weekend’s online election. Brigette Lugo, a student journalist at Mt. San Antonio College, and Jennifer Burger, adviser to The Runner at CSU-Bakersfield, join the board as Southern California student representative and vice president of membership, respectively. Twelve CCMA member schoolsContinue reading “Election Results: Two Newcomers Join CCMA Board”

Candidate info for CCMA board of directors

Most of the current California College Media Association board members are seeking re-election to one year terms in this spring’s election, which will be conducted online from May 12-14. Here is biographical information for each candidate: President Mark Plenke (incumbent) Mark is a faculty member at California State University, Chico, and adviser to its studentContinue reading “Candidate info for CCMA board of directors”

Nominations open for CCMA board of directors

Elections for positions on the 12-member California College Media Association board will take place online May 12-14. This is the group that plans and presents the annual CCMA better college newspaper contest and banquet and provides information and support for California college media advisers and student journalists. We pretty much share the work of runningContinue reading “Nominations open for CCMA board of directors”

2017 CCMA Award Winners

More than 200 California college journalists, their families and advisers packed the Waterfront room at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in San Francisco on Saturday night to celebrate CCMA’s 2017 contest winners. In all, students from 37 association schools submitted 1,138 entries in the contest, which covered journalism and advertising produced in 2016. Professionals from across theContinue reading “2017 CCMA Award Winners”