Reserve your place at the 2017 CCMA awards ceremony

Join CCMA for our annual awards banquet dinner honoring California’s best in college media at 6 p.m. on Saturday, March 4, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in San Francisco. We are teaming up with the Associated Collegiate Press at its 33rd National College Journalism Convention, March 2-5. Banquet ticket prices:  $65 before March 1. The priceContinue reading “Reserve your place at the 2017 CCMA awards ceremony”

2017 CCMA Contest Rules Available

Rules for this year’s California College Media Association contest are now posted on the CCMA website. Find them here. Significant rule changes from last year’s contest include: • New divisions. Contestants will now compete in three groups: four-year schools with enrollments of 10,000 or more, four-year schools with enrollments under 10,000 and community colleges. • SchoolsContinue reading “2017 CCMA Contest Rules Available”

2017 CCMA Contest Under Construction

Our apologies for the delay in getting the 2017 California College Media Association Contest ready for entries. We’re hoping to have entry information, contest rules and a link to the entry port in the next day or so. In the meantime, please enter or update your school’s contact information so we can be sure youContinue reading “2017 CCMA Contest Under Construction”

Sacramento State Hornet being forced off campus

The offices of the Sacramento State’s student paper, The Hornet, are being moved more than a mile off campus during a two-year construction project despite protests from the adviser and staff. Read more about it in this staff editorial: More about the project here: Adviser Stu VanAirsdale  (917-913-8654, and Editor-in-Chief Joel Boland ( would appreciate yourContinue reading “Sacramento State Hornet being forced off campus”

Are you ready for this year’s CCMA contest?

CCMA plans to open the online portal for this year’s contest Dec. 7. The deadline for entries will be Jan. 13, 2017. Watch this space for a link to the online contest site. We’ve changed the way colleges and universities are grouped for competition and expanded the number of entries for each school, so be sure to readContinue reading “Are you ready for this year’s CCMA contest?”

New CCMA board elected

The ballots have been cast. The results are in. Voting for the California College Media Association Board of Directors closed at midnight Tuesday, June 1. Here are the results. (All ran unopposed) President – Mark Plenke, Chico State Vice President (Conference/Training) – Brady Teufel, Cal Poly SLO Vice President (Contests) – Michael Chute, California BaptistContinue reading “New CCMA board elected”