CCMA honors Randy Hagihara with Outstanding Service Award

The California College Media Association has relied on the service of Randy Hagihara since the organization’s founding in 2003. As senior editor for recruitment at the Los Angeles Times and director of the paper’s reporter training and summer internship programs, Randy has been an invaluable resource for many of our students, offering guidance as they made the transition from student to professional media.

Randy worked at the Los Angeles Times for 21 years, serving as senior editor for recruitment and director of the paper’s reporter training and summer internship programs. Prior to that he was city editor of the Times’ Orange County edition. Hagihara also served as Peninsula bureau chief at the San Jose Mercury News, which won the Pulitzer Prize for its coverage of the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989. He was night city editor at the Oakland Tribune, an editor and police reporter at the Peninsula Times Tribune and reporter/photographer for a number of other newspapers in California. A native of Los Angeles, he attended Los Angeles Trade Technical College and Cal State Northridge.

His constant willingness to speak to students about applying for jobs and internships, along with the mentorship he has offered to new professionals at the Times, have made him a cherished resource. Additionally, Randy has served CCMA directly, coordinating judging for our General Excellence category and other categories for many years running. The CCMA board, along with hundreds of students and advisers, owe Randy a huge “thank you” for his dedication and service.

Important information about CCMA Spring Career Workshop and Awards Banquet

Thank you for registering for our CCMA event this weekend at CSU Fullerton. We have a full weekend planned for students, advisers and some families attending to see their students win. Nearly 100 are signed up for the workshop and more than 200 will be at the awards ceremony.

The following are some key details to know in advance and a link to a map.

Schedule & information

Friday, April 20
>> 1:30 p.m.: Tour of the Orange County Register. Meet in the lobby. For a map/directions, click here. Open to those who signed up.
>> 6-8 p.m.: Students Night Out: Bowling, billiards, food and fun. Mix and mingle with other students at Titan Bowl & Billiards at Titan Student Union. For CSU Fullerton map, click here.


Saturday, April 21
>> 8 – 9 a.m.: Registration, at CSU Fullerton Titan Student Union, Portola Pavilion

***Please tell students to bring copies of their resumes, cover letters or portfolios for the critique sessions with experienced recruiters. When they register they will then sign up for a critique session during the day. Space is limited, so please remind them to come prepared.***

Workshops: 9:15 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (pastries and lunch included)
>> Recent grads share their experiences in the real world (and how they landed a job).
>> From social media, blogs and a digital portfolio, how to  build your brand and get hired.
>> Crossover skills you will need to succeed in today’s market.
>> To go to grad school or not?
>> Interactive interview workshop.

Awards Banquet, 6:30 p.m., Titan Student Union, Portola Pavilion
>> Join us for dinner as we recognize the year’s best in student media. Check in starts at 6:30 p.m., dinner is served by 7 p.m.

Dress: We leave that up to you. In the past some students have dressed up. That said, we recommend casual to semi-formal. This is California, so anything goes!

Hotel, travel & parking information

Airport: The John Wayne Airport is about 18 miles from the CSU Fullerton campus. For a map, click here.

Hotel: CCMA has booked a block of rooms at the Fullerton Marriott for $79 per night. It is next to the university and within walking distance of the Titan Student Union. Reserve your room early, call 1-714-738-7800 and mention the CCMA rate.

CSU Fullerton parking: For maps and parking information, click here. There is free parking in the State College Parking Structure (SCPS) which is near the Titan Student Union and at the Marriott Hotel (M-HTL). Directions to the Titan Student Union:

From the North:
Take the 57 Freeway South and exit at Yorba Linda Blvd.
Turn right (west) onto Yorba Linda Blvd.
Turn left (south) onto State College Blvd.
Turn left onto Student Union Way.
The Titan Student Union will be located in front of you.
From the South:
Take the 57 Freeway North and exit at Nutwood Ave.
Turn left (west) onto Nutwood Ave.
Turn right (north) onto State College Blvd.
Turn right onto Student Union Way.
The Titan Student Union will be located in front of you.
Download the map.
If you have any questions, please contact CCMA President Melissa Lalum, 818-677-2243,


CCMA 2011 contest call for entries

The CCMA is seeking entries for the 2011 California College Media Competition. All entries must be postmarked by Dec. 12, 2011. Follow these instructions to enter the contest:

1. Download and read the rules and details about the competition.

2. If you have not done so this fall, fill out the membership form.

3. Renew your membership with a check payable to CCMA or submit your payment via PayPal. Log in to your account, or create a new one, and send the payment of $125 to the CCMA at

4. Compile your entries. Follow the guidelines in the video below:


5. Mail payment, entry form(s), adviser signature page, one disk with visual entries and actual entries to:
California College Media Association
c/o Amy Emmert
118 Kerckhoff Hall
308 Westwood Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90024-1641

Questions? Contact Amy Emmert,, or call 424-652-8644.

CCMA 2010-2011award winners & link to past winners

This year’s California College Media Association Awards Banquet featured dozens of winners from across the state and a record turn out. The event, held at the Renaissance Hotel in Hollywood, California, honored the best in the state’s student media and also recognized CNPA Legal Counsel Jim Ewert as a champion of First Amendment rights and CAL-JEC’s Educator of the Year Melissa Lalum, of California State University Northridge.

For a complete list of the 2010 winners, click here. To see past year’s winners, click here.

Check back in the fall for information about next year’s competition and banquet.

Each year the California College Media Association holds a competition to honor excellence in student media at junior college and university publications throughout the state. The competition typically draws hundreds of entries from both large and small schools. The contest is free for member publications.