CCMA Board 2015 Election Results

California College Media Association members re-elected their current board or directors to one year terms in online voting last month.

Voters also affirmed the appointment of Joe Wirt of the California Newspaper Publishers Association as an at-large board member and elected two new student members: Greg Diaz of Cal State Long Beach and Javier Rojas of Humboldt State.

Eleven member schools cast ballots. None of the races were contested, but voters did have an opportunity to write in candidates.

Here are the results:
Board President Barbara Kingsley-Wilson (CSU Long Beach)  11 yes, 0 no
Vice President for Membership Mark Plenke (CSU Chico) 11 yes, 0 no
Vice President for Conferences and Training Brady Teufel (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) 11 yes, 0 no|
Vice President for Contests Michael Chute (Cal Baptist) 10 yes, 1 no
Treasurer Dave Frederickson (University of the Pacific) 11 yes, 0 no
Secretary Michael Longinow (Biola University) 11 yes, 0 no
At-Large Board Member Marcy Burstiner (Humboldt State) 10 yes, 1 no
At-Large Board Member Richard Craig (San Jose State) 10 yes, 0 no
At-Large Board Member Joe Wirt (CNPA) 10 yes, 0 no
Student Board Member Greg Diaz (CSU Long Beach) 10 yes, 0 no
Student Board Member Javier Rojas (Humboldt State) 8 yes, 0 no

The votes were cast June 16-17.

Voting open for CCMA board of directors

CCMA members will be receiving a link to an online ballot in the next couple of days that will allow them to vote for the organization’s board of directors.

All current board members are running to retain their seats. Their biographies and current board positions are available here.

Joe Wirt of the California Newspaper Publishers Association, appointed to the board earlier this year, is also on the ballot as are two student-member hopefuls, Greg Diaz of Cal State-Long Beach and Javier Rojas of Humboldt State.

Board members serve one-year terms.


Still time to register for the CCMA awards reception

CCMA members and guests can still reserve a place at the CCMA 2015 awards reception, scheduled for 6 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 28, inStudios II, III and IV at the Sheraton Universal Hotel in Universal City . 
Deadline for registration, payment and checks is Tuesday, Feb. 24. Prices are higher at the door. 
Also, CCMA would like award winners to bring hard copies of their nominated stories to the event so everyone can see what they’ve done. 
The Twitter hashtag for the ceremony will be #ccmaawards15


CCMA/ACP convention starts Feb. 26

College journalists from across California and the US will gather in Los Angeles at the end of next month for the Associated Collegiate Press/California College Media Association convention.

Th preliminary program, including hotel information, is available on the ACP website:

Students and advisers are invited to propose conference sessions here

This year’s CCMA contest awards banquet will be Saturday, Feb. 28, at the Sheraton Universal Studios Hollywood hotel. Details coming soon.

CCMA extends contest deadline to Dec. 15

In order to allow enough time for contestants to file and pay for entries in our new Better Newspapers Contest, CCMA is extending the contest deadline one week, to Monday, Dec. 15, 2014 at 8:59 p.m.

All other rules remain unchanged including the eligibility dates — Dec. 5, 2013 to Dec. 6, 2014. You can pay for entries via Paypal. If you send a check, those are due by Dec. 15 to the following address:
Michael Chute
8432 Magnolia Ave.
Riverside, CA 92506
Please see the site for other rules and guidelines. One tip — file your entries as Contest Manager, which is the default setting. Here again is the contest link:
We look forward to seeing everyone at the Excellence in Student Media Awards reception Feb. 28 at the Sheraton Universal in Los Angeles! Look for info on the conference and reception next month.
Questions? Contact Michael Chute at or (951) 552-8721 or You can also contact CCMA President Barbara Kingsley at or (562) 985-5779. For questions on the site itself, click on Contact Better BNC on the contest page.

Entries Open for CCMA Contest

It’s here!

Emails have been sent inviting college media editors and advisers to enter the 2015 California College Media Association Excellence in Student Media Contest.

The contest is entirely online this year, so entries must be uploaded through the Better Newspaper Contest website at

A password, directions for logging in and step-by-step uploading instructions are included in the email notification.

Student finalists will be recognized at the Excellence in Student Media Awards reception at the Sheraton Universal in Los Angeles on Feb. 28. The reception is part of the Associated Collegiate Press Midwinter Convention Feb. 26 to March 1.

The deadline for entries and for paying the $150 CCMA annual membership and contest entry fee is Dec. 8.

Contest categories and rules are available on the CCMA website.