Who We Are

About CCMA

The idea for California College Media Association originated in 2003 when a group of journalism faculty and advisers saw a need for more communication and statewide support for college media programs in California. The founders realized that California had a larger number of journalism programs than most states but no statewide organization. Those instrumental in the founding of the organization include Rachele Kanigel of San Francisco State, Tom Clanin of Cal State Fullerton, Sylvia Fox of Sacramento State, Amy Emmert of UCLA, and Dave Waddell of Chico State. The founders hoped to create an organization that supports college journalism students and those who work with them.

The first official CCMA meeting was held Nov. 7, 2003, at the Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Association convention in Dallas. CCMA’s first convention was held March 5, 2004, in Las Vegas, and founding officers and a board of directors were elected.

Each year CCMA holds an annual training workshop for media students on a variety of topics and hosts a competition honoring excellence in college journalism.

Contact us by email at cacollegemedia@gmail.com.

Mission Statement
Board of Directors
How to Join
Student board member application
Board minutes

One thought on “Who We Are

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: